Williamstown Bank has a proud, rich history in West Virginia.
Early in the 20th Century, a group of community minded individuals realized the town of Williamstown, West Virginia, was in need of a local bank. On October 1, 1919, these men met and incorporated a new bank. This bank would be known as the Farmers and Mechanics National Bank of Williamstown.
The newly organized bank opened for business in December of 1919. The first Board of Directors consisted of F.L. Fenton, J.J. Lorentz, E.E. Lane, George Pugh, M. Richter, Frank Lane, D. Reynolds, O.D. King, and B.F. Riggs. The bank’s first officers were F.L. Fenton, President; E.E. Lane, Vice President; and J.J. Lorentz, Cashier.
The Bank was prosperous throughout the years and moved into their current location at 435 Highland Avenue, in 1951.
In the year of 1960, controlling interest in the Bank was purchased by A.V. Criss interests and Douglas Adams. After operating together for several years, the interest of Douglas Adams was purchased by A.V. Criss, Jr. Mr. Criss passed away in 1983 and his wife, L. Gay Criss, assumed the position of controlling shareholder of the Bank, until her death in May 2008. The Criss family remains heavily involved in the Bank.
On January 1st, 1964 the name of the Bank was changed to The Williamstown National Bank. This was done to shorten the name of the Bank and make it conform to common usage. The Bank had commonly been referred to as The Williamstown Bank for many years. In 1986 the Officers and Directors of the Bank decided to open a branch office at 3002 E. 7th Street, Parkersburg, West Virginia.
On March 13, 2007, the Bank’s shareholders approved changing the Bank’s charter to a state charter and began the process for the Bank to become Williamstown Bank, Inc. This change was effective June 1, 2007.
The Bank continues to grow and prosper and remains one of the few Community Banks left in the State of West Virginia.